RAW photo shooting

Started by dark-shadow, October 12, 2014, 11:06:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dark-shadow

Hi,

I'm completely new to RAW photo shooting. The RAW pictures I took with my EOS 550D are rather noisy. I realized that I have to post-process RAW images on my own, using RAW editing software. Have I understood it right that noise reduction is usually done by the camera, but for RAW images I have to do it manually? If so, how are other people doing this?

Here is what I want to achieve:
* Take photos in RAW mode (mainly to be able to use advanced features like aettr and dual_iso)
* Post-process (preferably automatically) via script or using graphical tools like RawTherapee (or any other Linux software if someone can recommend one)
* Save the results as regular JPEG (I don't want or need to keep the RAW images around, except perhaps for some particular photos). Image dimensions can be appropriately the same as regular JPEGs written by the camera, or any other of those standard sizes.

My primary concern is the noise, though; I wonder, did I do something wrong regarding the way I shot these pictures?

garry23

May I suggest you first get used to shooting in RAW without using any additional ML functionality.

Your camera should have come with software to process RAW images.

Additionally think about software such as Photoshop Elements.

The thing with RAW us that you need to create the image in post.

Once you better understand the strengths of RAW, then move on to ML enhanced RAW capture.

As for noise, use base (100) ISO, for minimum noise and, of course, seek out optimum exposure.

Walter Schulz

And I would think twice about not saving your RAW files. Over time I saw various enhancements in RAW converters and add-ons. After driving some older RAWs through my workflow again I sometimes was glad having taken the effort a second time. Not always, of course!
I found a link:
http://www.pentaxforums.com/reviews/linux-for-photography/introduction.html