Author Topic: Canon 550D / T2i  (Read 217997 times)

andrewlogan

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #225 on: August 13, 2017, 05:56:25 AM »
Hey All,
First off amazing work, I am about a week into using ML and it has turned my ailing 550D into a workhorse imho.
One thing I noticed in testing is, and I only have one test to confirm this, but while it seems the *650D* closes files when it runs out of card space, my 550D does not close the file and leaves a big ugly unclosed hunk of MOV in the folder... not sure if this is Canon firmware or ML though... ideas?

John Smith 65

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #226 on: August 31, 2017, 06:14:44 PM »
Thank you for your amazing work, I've using Magic Lantern from several years
ago with great success.

About Continuous AF during video

I've been searching for an answer to this request, I've find many answers but not a definitive one
now that electronic focusing lenses are available.

Is not possible to do a hack to use AI SERVO without having to keep pressing button all the time?

I know that many lenses are hard, slow and noisy, but now I have an electronic focusing lens (10-18mm), very fast and silent, and I think it could be great if the feature was available.

Thank you.


ursamajor

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Build a school and you'll close a prison - V. Hugo
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #227 on: October 27, 2017, 05:57:36 PM »
Hello, I tried to use Silent picture feature and I have a problem. I selected in Q menu "full resolution/DNG", but when I half press shutter, the display become black. If I change to "Simple" it works, but the saved resolution is only... 1734x1156. Is there a fix, or these are limitations of ML/550D camera?

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3481
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #228 on: October 27, 2017, 06:05:57 PM »
I think it takes the image, then stays black, next you half press the shutter button again and it goes back into live view.

ursamajor

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Build a school and you'll close a prison - V. Hugo
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #229 on: October 27, 2017, 06:48:10 PM »
No, only in "Simple" mode take pictures. Tested many times.

dfort

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2094
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #230 on: November 03, 2017, 05:39:13 AM »
I don't have access to a 550D but it does work great in QEMU so just for fun I thought I'd try porting a firmware update on it without the camera. Well, I did get some help from qqluqq to get a ROM dump and he also did most of the work, all I did was to change a few stubs and got it running in the emulator. Here's how we did it: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19417.msg192667#msg192667

Of course the real test is running it on the camera so I posted a test build on my Bitbucket downloads page. Please report back with your feedback. If it is working on the camera I'll put in a pull request.

[EDIT] I forgot to mention that since this is a test build for the firmware update it doesn't have a .FIR file so make sure to set the camera boot flag before updating your firmware. Basically, you need to install ML in 1.0.9 before running the Canon 1.1.0 firmware update.
EOSM.202 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 700D.115 5D3.*