Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3  (Read 802384 times)

kryd

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1500 on: April 22, 2017, 01:12:16 PM »
Did anyone know is this a feature or a bug?.
When the "Zoom on HalfShutter" option is enabled, it also affect the SET button.
Pressing SET button also zooms.

Or maybe I just missed some setting?

Jinforthewin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1501 on: May 16, 2017, 12:56:03 PM »
Just got a 5d3 and wanting to explore ML. Current firmware is 1.3.4. Is there a stable release for it right now? 

Anntria

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1502 on: May 22, 2017, 12:49:49 AM »
Question: how to record sound with this build?
Only with external sound recorder?
If so then how to mix it with footage? Are there any time codes options?

Please share how you guys handle with this.

lostfeliz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • 5diii. 60d.
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1503 on: May 24, 2017, 02:43:17 AM »
I'm hoping that we'll get MLV Sound module working with the new experimental builds soon. It'd be very helpful for synching a day's worth of footage (and for back up sound). It sounds like for now they have other priorities.

One possible option for timecode with external sound recording would be the Sound Devices MixPre-3 that was recently announced. It accepts HDMI to get timecode. Not sure if it works with the 5Diii's HDMI output though.

erikbaldwinson

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1504 on: May 24, 2017, 10:04:43 AM »
I agree about the sound. In my opinion the lack of sound integration is the most significant short-coming of magic lantern. I record the h264 proxies but they require syncing to the mlvs in post and it is exhausting.

Maybe a funding situation can be organized or something to basically achieve synced sound asap. Then plural eyes can do the rest for external recorders.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5487
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1505 on: May 24, 2017, 12:25:01 PM »
Maybe a funding situation can be organized

AWGTHTGTTA?
You will most likely kill the project doing so.

Ceterum censeo experimental build downloads esse delendam.

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1506 on: May 25, 2017, 03:46:02 PM »
I am having problems updating to fir 123 from 113

I followed canon instructions, but i keep hitting a wall.

I am obviously doing something wrong but i dont know what. Iremove ML from SD card, place fir 123 file on the SD card and insert the card in camera. The camera is completely dead after this, on/off does nothing, photo mode or liveview aswell. Also when inserting the sd card not even a LED blink. Also without any cards in camera, it remains dead. I have to reinstate the apr 29 build for 113 on the sd card and that brings back the camera to life and everything works as before.

I reseted canon and ml settings (lost my PP's :( ) same thing, camera dies.

Any advice on what i am doing wrong?


once you go raw you never go back

rpt

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • 5DIII, 24-105, 40 2.8, 100-400, 600EX
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1507 on: May 25, 2017, 03:52:44 PM »
I have never used 113 ver of ML. I use 123. When I updated from 121 to 123, I uninstalled the 121 version and then installed the 123 version. From your description I am not sure if you uninstalled the 113 version prior to removing the card.

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1508 on: May 25, 2017, 04:08:35 PM »
How do i go about uninstalling firmware? Sounds a bit wrong.

I am sure i've read that people just updated from 113 to 123. But removing ML properly from the camera might be my issue, which i am not sure how to perform.
once you go raw you never go back

Ben_

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1509 on: May 25, 2017, 05:10:18 PM »
I used to use ML over two years ago, but removed it as it was quite buggy, especially when filming, so I would not dare using it on the job. I know these types of questions are usually frowned upon but just want to check if it is more stable today?

Have been following the thread on and off but not read every message the past two years. Really want to give it a shot again as the features are amazing and just want to see what has happened in the stability department since before.

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1510 on: May 25, 2017, 10:55:40 PM »
So stupid, should have read the ML User Guide.

I didn't format the Card before putting the 123 fir file on. That's why it didn't work.
once you go raw you never go back