My test with the source code

Started by scrax, June 15, 2012, 12:33:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scrax

Hi, here i'll like to post my experience in compiling and patching source code to learn how it works basically. I'm not a developer, just i like to read the code and figure out how it works, changing some value to add simple things like menu or feat.

14/06/2012
so far i've added one thing that for me was useful like rename back avi to cr2 after imported by my eyefi, so i've copied the code from cr2toavi and changed the extensions to have the revert function.
after that i've made a nice submenu for the two options and moved it to tweaks from debug looking how other menu are done.
Then there was something wrong with compilation of doc and i've made some correction for osx in makefile to have a almost working compilation of docs, still something missing but needs more investigations.
I've also tried to enable audio photo trigger at least but it's buggy (of course).

Now, since i suppose to have made some mess with hg i want to restart from start to make a working fork and maybe another one for my test and post here how it goes.

First I've installed all the things to compile ML (se other post) and then from terminal:
hg clone -r unified https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern

then I've made some changes to Makefile.inc as suggested on the wiki for a compiling issue.
this is what i've changed to compile on osx: 657d28d4947f

adding the eyefi menu was done here: 9ec61f42a6e9

i've also added a new version of my preferred cropmark crossmeter with a trasparent dark overlay for the guide here 32ca15089015

and after reading an issue on the magiclantern page i've tried to enable intermediate iso for hdr an it worked good (at first) here: 28454caf86bb

now i'm working on prepare.Lion.sh to automate the install of all what is needed on osx to compile ML. here what we have so far: b89ec23455cf

15/06/2012