Author Topic: Canon 1100D / T3  (Read 581299 times)

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #25 on: July 13, 2012, 06:18:39 PM »
We now have a menu button that's working very well. It works in every non-auto mode except A-DEP


Patch: http://nanomad.magiclantern.fm/1100D/menu_is_av_short_press.patch
autoexec.bin: http://nanomad.magiclantern.fm/1100D/autoexec.bin


edit: updated patch to work in LV too
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #26 on: July 13, 2012, 07:51:16 PM »
Did anyone say in-camera audio level monitoring?

Patch: http://nanomad.magiclantern.fm/1100D/enable_mono_audio_meters.patch
Autoexec.bin: http://nanomad.magiclantern.fm/1100D/autoexec.audio.bin

Keep in mind this is HIGHLY UNSTABLE CODE
Your camera may explode

The 1100D probably uses the same audio IC the 600D does and has no AGC (the mic is kinda crappy though). Who's volunteering to tear apart his camera to find out?
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

bart

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #27 on: July 13, 2012, 09:20:55 PM »
Great work nanomad!

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #28 on: July 14, 2012, 02:51:06 PM »
Updated the first post a bit.

All my efforts are logged here: http://nanomad.magiclantern.fm/1100D/

I usually upload "working" (NOT STABLE!!! JUST WORKING) builds only. If anyone wants to test them please get in touch with me before doing so
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #29 on: July 14, 2012, 11:27:28 PM »
Try some of the audio code from TL. If it works and we have the same audio IC it will make reversing easier. The registers should be the same in that whole family of lapis ICs.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #30 on: July 15, 2012, 02:22:11 PM »
Will do.

You may want to backport this changeset: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/changeset/63f5464711f5
to your repo. It should make things easier in the future when we'll have multiple audio IC around
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #31 on: July 15, 2012, 03:38:13 PM »
I tried the tragic lantern code, but did not get any audio meters at all (while I can see audio levels with stock ML code)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #32 on: July 15, 2012, 05:43:06 PM »
Some random stuff i found in the firmware about Audio IC.
- Initialization is done at 0xFF06A388. This starts all the tasks needed by DryOS
- 0xFF06A2B0 is EnableAudioIC. It writes a bunch of 0xAxxx values to the AudioIC itself
Everythin related to audio is around there

- 0xFF069AAC is DumpAudioIcRegister. This function seems to dump all the registers somewhere, but it doesn't use the usual debug messages of dryos. Is there any other debug function?
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

scrax

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1417
  • Code monkey
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #33 on: July 15, 2012, 06:05:37 PM »
Will do.

You may want to backport this changeset: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/changeset/63f5464711f5
to your repo. It should make things easier in the future when we'll have multiple audio IC around
nice Ive added it in my fork, if someone want to check it.
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus - EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX Lion, Photoshop & Lightroom -no video experience- MLTools

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #34 on: July 15, 2012, 07:07:37 PM »
Quote
, but did not get any audio meters at all


I have everything skipped except for 600D stuff. Since the registers are different any ML writes to the "standard" registers change completely different things and interfere. I definitely had to neuter all of the writes and the override task.

Try some of the debug.c functions like power mic amp and unmute av. If they work that means you have the Oki/Lapis IC. Otherwise its a 3rd IC or something else. Also on 600D the registers are doubled, when you get a reg dump working you'll be able to see if its the same.

I should get audio remote shot working next...

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #35 on: July 15, 2012, 07:18:25 PM »
Do you mind jumping on IRC? I could use your firmware dump :)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #36 on: July 15, 2012, 11:48:04 PM »
Is the audio ic read/write address right on T3? 600D register dump should work on T3 too even if registers are different.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #37 on: July 16, 2012, 01:54:27 AM »
The addresses are correct , the function I used to dump stuff isn't...
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #38 on: July 16, 2012, 10:43:47 AM »
Looks like we have a new audioIC here :(
Code: [Select]
80 40
81 03
82 02
83 a9
84 6a
85 23
86 64
87 a4
88 d2
89 2d
8a 6d
8b 80
8c 92
8d 92
8e 0f
8f 00
90 92
91 92
92 92
93 92
94 92
95 92
96 92
97 92
98 92
99 92
9a 92
9b 92
9c 92
9d 92
9e 92
9f 92
a0 40 ; 00 on Enable (1,14)
a1 03 ; 00 on Enable (2,15) -> 00 on Disable (1)
a2 02 ; 02 on Enable (3)
a3 a9 ; A9 on Enable (4)
a4 6a ; 6A on Enable (13)
a5 23 ; 23 on Enable (12)
a6 64 ; 64 on Enable (5)
a7 a4 ; A4 on Enable (6)
a8 d2 ; D2 on Enable (7)
a9 2d ; 2D on Enable (8)
aa 6d ; AudioVolumeOUT - 6D on Enable (9)
ab 80 ; 80 on Enable (10)
ac 92
ad 92
ae 0f ; 0F on Enable (11)
af 00
b0 92
b1 92
b2 92
b3 92
b4 92
b5 92
b6 92
b7 92
b8 92
b9 92
ba 92
bb 92
bc 92
bd 92
be 92
bf 92
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

wave

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #39 on: August 01, 2012, 04:23:25 AM »
Hi,any news on this port? Thanks

superman13

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #40 on: August 12, 2012, 07:12:53 PM »
I'd love to get Magic Lantern on my T3. I tried to use paypal and my bank account won't link up with it :/.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #41 on: August 13, 2012, 03:18:34 PM »
I may have a SUPER EARLY ALPHA for today. I'll probably disable some features that are 100% broken just to be on the safe side
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

wave

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #42 on: August 13, 2012, 06:22:39 PM »
Can you post link for that super alpha,Iwant to test on my T3? thanks!!!

superman13

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #43 on: August 13, 2012, 08:54:30 PM »
I may have a SUPER EARLY ALPHA for today. I'll probably disable some features that are 100% broken just to be on the safe side

Sweet! Thank you so much :D

gabezermeno

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #44 on: August 14, 2012, 11:07:38 AM »
I may have a SUPER EARLY ALPHA for today. I'll probably disable some features that are 100% broken just to be on the safe side
i would go crazy if i had an alpha version of magic lantern for my t3 :) my best friend just got a t3i and i put magic lantern on his camera and i am so jealous.

uglyprincess

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #45 on: August 18, 2012, 03:53:41 PM »
Are you sharing the alpha version for the 1100D?  I'd love to try it if it's possible  :)

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #46 on: August 18, 2012, 04:00:45 PM »
I'm having issues with the compiler at the moment. The source its ready but it won't compile and I can't figure out why

It keeps complaning about a menu txt file  :o
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

gabezermeno

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #47 on: August 19, 2012, 09:57:26 AM »
damn. thats a shame. i would have loved to play with it while i was at the ocean tomorrow. at the very least to use the timelapse function

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #48 on: August 19, 2012, 09:58:58 AM »
Well, maybe it's my setup. You can compile the 1100D from sources (get the 2.3  release source code, go into the platform/1100D.105  and type make). The autoexec.bin will work just fine but it will have some "useless" functions in it (which I had disabled in my code)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

gabezermeno

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 1100D / T3
« Reply #49 on: August 19, 2012, 10:02:10 AM »
im sorry. you lost me at compile haha