Magic Lantern Forum

General Discussion => Magic Lantern Forum and Site Discussion => Topic started by: escho on October 11, 2016, 11:47:35 PM

Title: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: escho on October 11, 2016, 11:47:35 PM
The news dissapeare for a non native english speaker like me a bit too quick. All other things look fine.
Edgar
Title: New server
Post by: escho on October 11, 2016, 11:53:03 PM
The news dissapeare for a non native english speaker like me a bit too quick. The rest looks fine
Edgar
(Second try to post)
Title: Help with MLV File: Won't open because corrupted by 7D shutting down
Post by: PaulHarwood856 on October 12, 2016, 07:00:37 AM
Hello ML Community,

     I was shooting raw video on my 7D a few months back, and during recording a long file my battery died.

     I cannot open the file, and don't have much experience with MLV_Dump. I have read a forum post about this issue and MLV_Dump possibly figuring out what the problem is with the file:

     http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16126.0 (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16126.0)

     Here is a link to the file via Google Drive if anyone wants to take a look: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0Bz5n0qYxIkVOZHo4STFMTzVGdUE?usp=sharing (https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0Bz5n0qYxIkVOZHo4STFMTzVGdUE?usp=sharing)

     I appreciate any help that can be provided. Thank you.

- Paul Harwood

     
Title: New server - Forum info center (bottom)
Post by: Kharak on October 12, 2016, 10:12:45 AM
First of all congratulations on the move to a new server. As i understood the old one was not coping very well anymore.

The news feed says to report stuff that used to work. Well i usually check the bottom 'info center' of the forum main page for new posts and threads, i am sure i am not the only one and as you might have noticed, it now posts each new post in a thread as an individual post in the info center, so it looks like spam because there are 10 of the same 'RE: ...' To a tread In the info center. This only leaves room for about 4-5 different threads in the info center.

Would be nice to have it the way it was before where only 1 of each tread depending on post date would be shown in the info center. Top ones being most recent and bottom oldest.

Thanks
Title: test
Post by: a1ex on October 12, 2016, 11:29:52 AM
abc
Title: Phone can't post New topics - TEST
Post by: Kharak on October 12, 2016, 01:58:32 PM
I cannot post new topics with my phone, I am now on my laptop

My phone can't reply to posts either.
Title: Re: New server
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 13, 2016, 12:17:29 AM
Test. Seems normal to me. Congrats on the new server!
Title: Re: New server
Post by: g3gg0 on October 13, 2016, 01:25:11 AM
it seems that something went wrong with that workflow post :)
Title: Re: New server
Post by: Kharak on October 13, 2016, 09:04:55 AM
Test test test

And this threads takes awhile to load, perhaps the workflow part. Of this thread

Via phone, it works now
Title: Re: New server
Post by: Kharak on October 13, 2016, 10:43:05 AM
Test test
Title: Re: New server
Post by: dfort on October 15, 2016, 01:25:17 AM
Tapatalk users -- check to see if you have anything in your "PARTICIPATED" tab. Looks like mine and @DeafEyeJedi don't have any items there.
Title: Re: New server
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 15, 2016, 01:35:10 AM
Seriously this is a big bug with the new server. At first I thought it was a Tapatalk issue but then I checked with other forums which then shows the enlisted participate section.

Even after replying to this thread -- still doesn't show up under participate section. I find this very useful for me to track down all my participation with you guys on certain threads.

Here's what the empty participate section looks like from ML:
(https://c7.staticflickr.com/6/5641/30297056926_e7b1a28e4a.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/Nafkus)

Here's what the participate section looks like from within another Forum:
(https://c6.staticflickr.com/6/5478/30246171501_0e9021e537.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/N5Kx2x)

Could this be related to the new server @g3gg0?
Title: Re: New server
Post by: Ottoga on October 15, 2016, 01:38:19 AM
Tapatalk shows "No Topics" in the participated section for me.
Title: Re: New server
Post by: g3gg0 on October 15, 2016, 06:02:31 PM
does it work better now?
Title: Re: New server
Post by: dfort on October 15, 2016, 06:05:22 PM
Yes!

Thanks @g3gg0


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Title: Re: New server
Post by: g3gg0 on October 15, 2016, 06:15:24 PM
okay this was quite an odyssey
had to reinstall tapatalk addon (no clue why, i copied databases and sources from original server...)
so i have manually undone the patches tapatalk installation made to the sources (i.e. edit all source files and search for tapatalk's modifications)

and then reinstall the plugin:
but this required to allow FTP access for chmod and file operations.
but the vsftp didnt allow SITE CHMOD for the current chrooted user (although it was enabled and rights were correct plus it worked from cmdline)
and with the in.ftpd chroot needed all binaries in chrooted environment too.
non-chrooted didnt work due to SMF not wanting to accept the "root path" to prefix to file operations.

but finally it works ;)

aaaaaaah!
Title: Re: New server
Post by: g3gg0 on October 15, 2016, 06:18:20 PM
please report things that appear weird from now.
Title: Re: New server
Post by: Ant123 on October 15, 2016, 06:29:08 PM
Code: [Select]
Field 'error' doesn't have a default value
Title: New server
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 15, 2016, 06:30:09 PM
Ahhhh damn @g3gg0 what a great way to wake up from this brief nightmare and much thanks for the fix even tho it may seemed tedious work or quite an odyssey which was absolutely worth it at the end of the day!

(https://c5.staticflickr.com/6/5606/30044419580_4055a346ef.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/MLVvd9)

Will definitely keep an eye out for anything weird or out of the ordinary going forward -- Thanks again mate!

Oh btw I love what you did to the main page of ML on top right corner --
(https://c4.staticflickr.com/6/5626/29710032083_95129aec08.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/MgnFst)

*Edit*

Sorry I had to remind myself to double check with you @g3gg0 on whether or not this was normal for it not to work -- whenever I subscribe certain threads to follow (dont remember when this stopped following) but it's been quite awhile and also can anyone else also chime on this matter as well?
Title: Re: New server
Post by: Ottoga on October 15, 2016, 10:39:20 PM
@g3gg0
All good now.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: New server
Post by: Ant123 on October 16, 2016, 07:06:22 PM
Forum is almost impossible to use. Every few minutes, I get "Field 'error' doesn't have a default value". Really anoying.
Title: Re: New server
Post by: g3gg0 on October 16, 2016, 07:34:39 PM
you get that when doing what?
Title: Re: New server
Post by: Ant123 on October 16, 2016, 07:41:34 PM
I get it instead of any forum page
Title: Re: New server
Post by: ddelreal on October 16, 2016, 07:42:47 PM
Interesting, what OS and what browser is being used? I'm on a Mac using Safari 10 with no problems.
Title: Re: New server
Post by: g3gg0 on October 16, 2016, 07:44:21 PM
can you post some screenshots?
Title: Re: New server
Post by: Ant123 on October 16, 2016, 07:52:11 PM
Right now forum works.
There was only "Field 'error' doesn't have a default value" text on white background.
I was trying Firefox, Maxthon, on WinXP and Lubuntu 16.04
Title: Re: New server
Post by: g3gg0 on October 16, 2016, 08:23:32 PM
interesting. i found one table in the mysql database that had a field that had no default value.
changed its default value to NULL. but wondering why that matters...?
Title: Re: New server
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 19, 2016, 05:22:57 PM
@g3gg0 -- not sure if this is related to the new server?

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=18039.msg173568#msg173568
Title: Re: New server
Post by: lojzik on October 19, 2016, 05:46:40 PM
With IPv6 enabled, I get only error
Code: [Select]
Data too long for column 'ip' at row 1
Title: Re: New server
Post by: extremelypoorfilmaker on October 20, 2016, 12:31:33 PM
I hope this might help.

I have finally managed to access the forum But, I can do that only if browsing while using a VPN.

my PC runs windows 7 pro + Service Pack 1

On chrome version 53, while running Betternet 4.0.7
Same for Firefox 49 + Browsec 2.0.3
I can access the forum. Without the VPN i get:

Code: [Select]
Data too long for column 'ip' at row 1


On Opera Stable 40 I get the same line of code if I try to access the forum
Title: Re: New server
Post by: lojzik on October 20, 2016, 02:15:51 PM
Quote
IPV6 aren't supported in 2.0.x and won't be. This is an error fixed for 2.1, but it won't be fixed for 2.0.x.
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=543919.msg3862603#msg3862603
http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=548191.msg3888245#msg3888245

if it is so and ipv6 is not supported by forum, you should disable ipv6 on server and/or remove aaaa from dns.
Title: Re: New server
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 20, 2016, 07:59:34 PM
Nice catch and thanks for sharing @lojzik.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 25, 2016, 06:43:15 PM
Not sure why/how some of us are still effected by this so called 'Data too long for column 'ip' at row 1' bug which has to do with these running IPV6 via through internet/wifi at home (my current workaround to bypass is to use my iPhone's hotspot and connect to it's wifi) otherwise I cannot use the ML forums.

After a few researches online and came across to this (http://stackoverflow.com/a/21523073)...

Quote
You are trying to insert data that is larger than allowed for the column logo.

Use following data types as per your need

TINYBLOB   :     maximum length of 255 bytes 
BLOB       :     maximum length of 65,535 bytes 
MEDIUMBLOB :     maximum length of 16,777,215 bytes 
LONGBLOB   :     maximum length of 4,294,967,295 bytes 

Use LONGBLOB to avoid this exception.


and I'm not even sure if this would give you a hint or two @g3gg0.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: Danne on October 25, 2016, 07:11:33 PM
A workaround on mac is to change to link-local only.
You find it under system preferences - network - Advanced - TCP/IP

(https://s14.postimg.org/3sml2ss35/Screen_Shot_2016_10_25_at_19_08_11.png)

And as pointed out from others youtube and vimeo embed buttons are gone.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 25, 2016, 08:46:07 PM
A workaround on mac is to change to link-local only.
You find it under system preferences - network - Advanced - TCP/IP

I can confirm this did the trick -- Thanks a bunch @Danne!

And as pointed out from others youtube and vimeo embed buttons are gone.

Just noticed this as well but if I place the URL link from Vimeo on here it'll just automagically embed it online for viewing purposes. Not sure about YouTube.

Here are the examples below:

https://youtu.be/v5RMfMHBr6w

https://vimeo.com/188771805
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: dfort on October 25, 2016, 09:32:03 PM
Not sure about YouTube.

The YouTube tag still works for embedding video though there's no button on the editor. Note that you need to change https to http for the youtube tag to work.

This works:
Code: [Select]
[youtube]http://youtu.be/ZzcMQuLAXKs[/youtube]

But this doesn't:
Code: [Select]
http://youtu.be/ZzcMQuLAXKs
http://youtu.be/ZzcMQuLAXKs

Like you said, vimeo works fine just like this:
Code: [Select]
https://vimeo.com/188771805
Title: advanced bracketing with the mirror lock on an canon 50D
Post by: SmartGR on October 25, 2016, 10:25:17 PM
Hi everybody,

I'm a german newbee in this forum. I have the following question:

Is it possible to use advanced bracketing/bulb feature in combination with the mirror lock up feature with a canon 50D?

Thanks for your help and sorry for my german english :). I will test in next week in Denmark. I'll be there on holiday.

Regards from Germany

SmartGR
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: eduperez on October 26, 2016, 12:21:02 AM
If you can read this, the IPv6-related error seems to have been solved; thanks!
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: Danne on October 26, 2016, 12:31:30 AM
Yes, solved. Can enter with my cell phone without going through vpn. Great!
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: DeafEyeJedi on October 26, 2016, 12:46:59 AM
Thanks for the heads up @eduperez!
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: extremelypoorfilmaker on October 28, 2016, 10:58:12 AM
Yes, solved for me as well! :)
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: Canon EOS 50D on November 07, 2016, 10:44:04 PM
On the top right of this forum page there are three links: Home Page, Downloads, and Userguide.
When I click user guide, it redirects to the Nightly Builds page. The URL says https://wiki.magiclantern.fm/, though.
If i'm not wrong this is a bug, because I used to be able to read a wiki page there.
Thanks
Matthew
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: g3gg0 on November 08, 2016, 11:55:40 PM
should be better now.
seems HTTPS never worked for wiki, but if you used HTTPS used once for magiclantern.fm, browsers always try to use it, giving you the downloads page...
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: teatotalTED on December 03, 2016, 08:20:26 AM
Not sure why so many new videos posted in "Share Your Videos" don't show up in the users post not even after logging in just to watch a video, yet others are replying to videos after viewing so not having the issue. Win 10 64bit Firefox, MS Edge and Chrome. Just logging in and refreshing doesn't solve it. I have to close the tab having first logged in then start a new tab and revisit the thread then the video appears.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: nikfreak on December 05, 2016, 10:17:14 AM
Cannot open up "Sent items" under "My messages".

Quote
Database Error
Please try again. If you come back to this error screen, report the error to an administrator.

While you are at it. Can you please change the link from "Changelog" on the main forum site "Developing magic lantern" ->"Change log" from https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/commits/all?page=None to https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern ?
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: Walter Schulz on December 05, 2016, 10:19:09 AM
No problem here.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?action=pm;f=sent
shows all sent messages in FF.
Any blockers active (JS?)
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: nikfreak on December 05, 2016, 10:24:01 AM
No IE / FF both have the same issue for me. Will check once I get back home but don't think a hardware firewall at my current location could be a problem.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: nikfreak on December 05, 2016, 06:32:26 PM
Unfortuantely no success @home, too.
Tried IE / FF / Chrome:

Quote
Database Error
Please try again. If you come back to this error screen, report the error to an administrator.

Is there any limit for amount of messages (inbox / sent) ?
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: g3gg0 on December 05, 2016, 08:44:33 PM
i bet it is 4294967295 ;)
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: nikfreak on December 05, 2016, 11:58:26 PM
problem solved. Thx.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: agentirons on February 06, 2017, 08:42:31 PM
I'm not sure if it's a problem or intentional, but I can't find any way to be notified of new posts in threads I've participated in. (I only use the forum through a web browser, not the Tapatalk app)

I can see the notifications tab in the modify profile page, and I've turned notifications on, but the section for "Current Topic Notifications" is blank. The SMF help pages suggest that I can click a Notify button on any thread I want, but it doesn't appear to be visible anywhere on the Magic Lantern forums.

Second 'problem' - are profile pictures limited to Hero users? I've tried adding a link through modify profile before but it never actually saves.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: a1ex on March 27, 2017, 01:21:55 AM
Just noticed the link to IRC chat (#magiclantern) somehow disappeared; added it back.
Title: Re: New server - Please report any problems with the site here
Post by: g3gg0 on May 03, 2017, 11:05:59 AM
test

solved